Matthew Weiner to Receive 2014 International Emmy® Founders Award


New York, June 2, 2014 – The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences will present the 2014 International Emmy® Founders Award to Matthew Weiner, the creator, Executive Producer, writer and director of the acclaimed drama series Mad Men. Academy President & CEO, Bruce L. Paisner, announced today that Weiner will accept the Award at the 42nd International Emmy® Awards Gala, on Monday, November 24, 2014, in New York City.

“With Mad Men, Matthew Weiner redefined period television and created a global cultural phenomenon that has dramatically changed the television landscape,” said Paisner. “We look forward to honoring his creative talent with our Founders Award, a few weeks before the final episodes of this great series.”

Weiner has been nominated for a total of 11 Emmys for Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series.  He won the award for the series pilot, as well as for the Second Season episode, Meditations in an Emergency, with Kater Gordon, and for the Third Season episode, Shut the Door. Have a Seat. with Erin Levy. Most recently, Weiner won the WGA award for Best Episodic for the Season Five episode, The Other Woman, with Semi Chellas. He also received Directors Guild nominations for his efforts behind the camera on Meditations in an Emergency in Season Two and the Season Three finale, Shut the Door. Have a Seat.

Weiner’s additional credits include serving as an Executive Producer and writer on The Sopranos, and writer on various television comedy series including The Naked Truth, Becker, and Andy Richter Controls the Universe.

In addition to his television credits, Weiner has written and directed the feature film, Are You Here, which will be open in theaters later this summer. Starring Owen Wilson, Zack Galifianakis and Amy Poehler, the film is an unexpected story about friendship and the people who keep us afloat while facing the compromises of life.

Produced and distributed by Lionsgate Television, Mad Men airs in over 230 countries worldwide and is broadcast on AMC in the United States. Since the series premiere in 2007, it has become one of television’s most honored shows joining an elite group in 2011 when it became only the fourth drama to be awarded four consecutive Emmy® Awards for Outstanding Drama Series. Additional honors for the series include: three Golden Globe® Awards for Best Television Drama Series; a Peabody Award; three Producers Guild Awards; four Writers Guild Awards; two BAFTA Awards; five Television Critics Association Awards, including Program of the Year; and being named six years running to AFI’s Top 10 Outstanding Television Programs. 

About the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 60 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards and International Emmy® Kids Awards Ceremonies held in New York, The International Digital Emmy® Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television produced outside of the United States and it presents The International Emmy® Awards in the following twenty categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actress; Best Performance by an Actor; Current Affairs; Comedy; Digital Program: Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction; Digital Program: Non-Fiction; Documentary; Drama Series; Kids: Preschool; Kids: Animation; Kids: Factual; Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment; Kids: Series; Kids: TV Movie/Mini-Series News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela; TV Movie/Mini-Series. For more information go to The International Academy also recognizes US primetime programming produced 50% or more in non-English languages, with a new category added to the 2014 International Emmy® Awards competition.


The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia, Senior Director, Communications & Partnerships
Tel: +1-212-489-6969

The Lippin Group
Matt Biscuitti