NEW YORK, November 25, 2013 – The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced today that the Board of Directors re-elected its President & CEO, Bruce Paisner, for a two year term. Paisner has been at the helm of The International Academy since January 2004. His new term starts January 1, 2014.

The election was held today, a few hours before the 41st International Emmy® Awards Gala during which film and television Creator/Writer/Director J.J. Abrams will receive the International Emmy® Founders Award and Anke Schäferkordt, Co-CEO of RTL Group will receive the International Emmy® Directorate Award.

“I am extremely proud of the great strides this organization has made over the last ten years, thanks to its dedicated staff and high powered Executive Committee,” said Paisner. “I am honored to be asked by my colleagues to serve again.  The International Academy has become a significant player on the global media stage, and I look forward to many new initiatives and activities.”
After the election, Paisner announced that he will re-appoint the current officers: Chairman Fred Cohen, Secretary Simon Sutton (President, HBO International & Content Distribution) and Treasurer Blair Westlake (Corp. VP, Media & Entertainment Group, Microsoft Corporation). He will also re-appoint the heads of the standing committees: Larry Gershman, Vice-Chairman & Chairman Emmy Committee (CEO, World International Network); Rainer Siek, Nominating Committee Chairman (President, M.T.NY); Kevin Beggs Co-Chairman of the Special Awards Committee (Chairman, Lionsgate Television Group) and Jim Rosenfield Co-Chairman Special Awards Committee, and the following other members of the Executive Committee: Ralph Baruch, Adriana Cisneros, CEO, Cisneros and Camille Bidermann Roizen Executive Director, the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Paisner is a long-term executive at Hearst Corporation. He now serves as Senior Advisor, Hearst Entertainment & Syndication.

About the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is a membership based organization comprised of leading media and entertainment figures from over 50 countries and 500 companies from all sectors of television including internet, mobile and technology. The Academy’s yearly schedule of events includes the prestigious International Emmy® Awards Ceremony held in New York, The International Digital Emmy® Awards at MIPTV and a series of industry events such as Academy Day, The International Emmy® World Television Festival and Panels on substantive industry topics. The Academy was chartered with a mission to recognize excellence in television produced outside of the United States and it presents International Emmy® Awardsin the following twenty categories: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actress; Best Performance by an Actor; Current Affairs; Comedy; Documentary; Drama Series; News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela; TV Movie/Mini-Series; Digital Program: Children & Young People; Digital Program: Fiction; Digital Program: Non-Fiction; Kids: Preschool; Kids: Animation; Kids: Factual; Kids: Non-Scripted Entertainment; Kids: Series; Kids: TV Movie/Mini-Series. The International Academy also recognizes Non-English Language US Primetime Programs, with a new Emmy category to be added to the 2014 International Emmy® Awards competition. 2014 Rules & Regulations will be posted on December 12, 2013 at


The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Eva Obadia, Senior Director, Communications & Partnerships
Tel: +1-212-489-6969

The Lippin Group
Matt Biscuitti
Tel: +1-212-986-7080